Our history

TheCityUK was set up by industry leaders in 2010, following the recommendations of two separate reports. One was by HM Treasury, co-chaired by the then Chancellor Alistair Darling and former Citigroup Chairman Sir Winfried Bischoff; the other was commissioned by Boris Johnson when he was London Mayor and chaired by former Merrill Lynch EMEA Chairman Bob Wigley.

The reports, published in 2008 and 2009, proposed the formation of an independent body to represent the broad spectrum of sectors across the financial and related professional services industry to sustain London’s reputation as a global capital of finance. Its remit would cover the promotion of the UK as a world-leading international financial centre at home and overseas, the anticipation of strategically important trends, and the promotion of the industry’s value and contribution to the UK.

Since TheCityUK was set up, we have worked with leaders from across the industry to deliver on the above objective. Our previous Board Chairs include John McFarlane; Sir Gerry Grimstone and Stuart Popham, and previous Leadership Council Chairs include Sir Adrian Montague; Paul Manduca; Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint and Sir Winfried Bischoff.