Leadership Council

Our Leadership Council brings together a cross-sectoral group of the most senior leaders from the industry.

The Leadership Council approves our strategy and its members lead on major programmes of work.

They work alongside the Board of Directors to ensure that we achieve our objectives and meet the demands of our members. These meetings are regularly attended by Government Ministers, senior regulators, Ambassadors and other leading stakeholders.

TheCityUK Leadership Council

Name Position Company
Lord Mayor of The City of London *   City of London Corporation
Bruce Carnegie-Brown** Chairman Lloyd’s of London
Paul Stanley Client Group Lead UK and Ireland, Financial Services Accenture
Aster Crawshaw Senior Partner Addleshaw Goddard LLP
Gareth Price Global Managing Partner Allen & Overy
Julie Page Chief Executive Officer Aon UK
Thalia Chryssikou Chair Association for Financial Markets in Europe (AFME)
Barry O’Dwyer President Association of British Insurers
George Culmer Chairman Aviva
Nigel Hinshelwood Non-Executive Director & Chair AXA XL
Justin Snyder Partner, Head of UK&I Financial Services Practice Bain & Company
Edward Poulton Managing Partner, London Baker McKenzie
Bernard Mensah President of International and CEO of Merrill Lynch International Bank of America
Nigel Higgins Chairman Barclays Bank plc
Stephen Cohen Head of EMEA BlackRock
Constantin Cotzias Director Bloomberg Europe
Anne-Marie Verstraeten UK Country Head BNP Paribas
Hani Kablawi Chairman of International BNY Mellon
Andy Maguire Chair, Global Banking Boston Consulting Group
James Bardrick Head of Citi and Cluster Head, UK, Jersey, Israel Citigroup
Christopher Hayward Chairman of Policy and Resources Committee City of London Corporation
Adrian Cartwright Global Senior Partner Clifford Chance
Hubert Reynier Senior Country Officer Crédit Agricole CIB
John Devine Non-Executive Chair Credit Suisse International
Peter Rutland Managing Partner CVC Capital Partners
Richard Hammell Managing Partner, Financial Services Deloitte LLP
Tiina Lee DB UK and Ireland CEO Deutsche Bank AG
Simon Levine Global Co-Chief Executive DLA Piper
Robert Hingley Chairman Euroclear UK & International
Andy Baldwin Global Managing Partner, Client Service EY
Peter Horrell Chairman, Fidelity Holdings (UK) Ltd Fidelity International
Mark Hoban Chair Financial Services Skills Commission
Georgia Dawson Senior Partner Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Richard Gnodde Vice Chairman Goldman Sachs
Lyndon Trott Chairman Guernsey Finance
James Palmer Chair and Senior Partner Herbert Smith Freehills
Sharon Lewis Partner, Global Head of Financial Institutions Sector Hogan Lovells
Mark Tucker Chairman HSBC Holdings
Chris Rhodes President ICE Futures Europe
Rupert Rossander General Counsel, EMEA Invesco
Dr Kay Swinburne Chair IRSG Council
Viswas Raghavan Chief Executive Officer EMEA J.P. Morgan
Joe Moynihan CEO Jersey Finance
Jon Holt Chief Executive KPMG
Paul Lewis Firmwide Managing Partner Linklaters LLP
Robin Budenberg Chairman Lloyds Banking Group
Don Robert Chairman London Stock Exchange Group
Edward Braham Chair M&G Plc
Rick McVey Chairman and Chief Executive Office MarketAxess
Christopher J Lay Chief Executive Officer, UK & Ireland Marsh
Dominic Griffiths Managing Partner & Co-Head Global Banking & Finance Practice Mayer Brown International LLP
Kapil Chandra Senior Partner & Head of Financial Institutions McKinsey & Company
Clare Woodman CEO and Head of EMEA Morgan Stanley & Co. International plc
Andreas Gustafsson Senior Vice President & Chief Counsel Nasdaq
David Godfrey Non-Executive Chairman Nomura International
Farmida Bi Chair Norton Rose Fulbright LLP
Kester Scrope Chief Executive Odgers Berndtson
Andy Briggs Group Chief Executive Officer Phoenix Group
Isabelle Jenkins UK Leader of Financial Services PwC
Robert Leitão Managing Partner Rothschild & Co
William Vereker Chairman Santander UK
Peter Harrison Chief Executive Officer Schroders
Barnabas Reynolds Global Head of Financial Institutions Regulatory & Financial Institution Advisory Shearman & Sterling
Charlotte Stalin Partner, Head of Financial Institutions Sector Group Simmons & Simmons
Stephen Cooke Senior Partner Slaughter and May
Demetrio Salorio Group Country Head UK & Ireland Société Générale
Andrew Croft Chief Executive Officer St. James’s Place
José Viñals Group Chairman Standard Chartered Bank
Cuan Coulter UK Country Head for State Street Bank & Trust State Street
Chris Rash Chief Executive Officer Talbot Underwriting Ltd (an AIG company)
Anne Richards DBE Chair TheCityUK Board
Omar Ali Chair TheCityUK Long Term Competitiveness Group
Jon Whitehouse Chair TheCityUK Public Affairs Group
Patrick Thomson Chair The Investment Association
Beatriz Martin UK Chief Executive UBS
Bob Wigley Chairman UK Finance
Andreas Utermann Chairman Vontobel
John Ball Head of Great Britain WTW
Zar Amrolia Chairman & Co-CEO XTX Markets
** Chairman


Our latest work

Global carbon pricing mechanisms and their interaction with carbon markets

This report constitutes ground-breaking new research which presents an overview of carbon markets, including the underlying principle of carbon pricing...

Explore more
Driving UK growth: Capturing future international investment in a rapidly changing world

The UK is a world-leading hub for high-value services. The UK-based financial and related professional services industry alone employs almost 2.5 million people, two thirds outside London...

Explore more


Opportunity for UK to be world leader in carbon markets


TheCityUK responds to the UK launching trade deal talks with Switzerland

TheCityUK appoints industry champion for the North West


Comment on the death of Sir Winfried Bischoff


Climate and ESG Data Summit 2023

City & Financial Global’s Climate and ESG Data Summit 2023 will be held in-person at America Square Conference Centre in London on 12 June 2023.

Explore more
TheCityUK Annual Conference 2023

Our Annual Conference 2023 will take place on Thursday 29 June at the QEII Centre in London and focus on the role of financial and related professional services in driving economic growth and supporting a stable and resilient economy.

Explore more