TheCityUK appointed to government’s Strategic Trade Advisory Group

TheCityUK was named today as one of the members of the government’s Strategic Trade Advisory Group. They will advise the government on future strategic trade policy issues, including on future trade agreements with the USA, Australia and New Zealand.

Gary Campkin, who will represent services on the group, will be one of 16 representatives from organisations – including businesses, trade unions and civil society – that cover a wide range of interests from all parts of the UK. It will meet at least four times a year and will be chaired by Trade Policy Minister George Hollingbery.

Gary Campkin, TheCityUK Managing Director External Relations & Strategic Issues, TheCityUK said,

The work of this group will be critical to securing the future prosperity of our country. As the UK seeks to renew and expand its global trade and investment relationships, maintaining a clear focus on the UK’s many and longstanding economic strengths, such as our world-leading services sector, is vital. The group will assist government to secure new, ambitious, forward-looking trade agreements, including for financial and related professional services which is the UK’s leading exporting industry, exporting nearly as much as the next three leading countries combined.”

Minister for Trade Policy George Hollingbery said,

The UK has a golden opportunity to forge stronger trading relationships with some of the largest and fastest growing economies in the world as we leave the European Union.

“We will approach all trade negotiations in a transparent and inclusive way and the Strategic Trade Advisory Group will help us to secure new trade agreements that increase prosperity across the whole of the UK.

“The group includes representatives from across business, civil society and trade unions. This will make sure we have robust and productive discussions about the direction of our trade policy, taking all points of view into account.”

Members have been selected to provide a breadth of knowledge and experience. Membership will be reviewed each year and members for 2019-2020 are:

  • George Hollingbery, Minister for Trade (Chair)
  • Prof Holger Breinlich, University of Surrey (Academia)
  • Carolyn Fairbairn, Confederation of British Industry (BRO)
  • Gary Campkin, TheCityUK (Services BRO)
  • Dr Scott Steedman CBE, British Standards Institution (Consumer, Standards)
  • Caroline Normand, Which? (Consumer)
  • Dr Dirk Willem te Velde, Overseas Development Institute (Developmental)
  • Mark Abrams, Trade Finance Global (New Entrant)
  • Michael Gidney, Fair Trade Foundation (NGOs)
  • Nick Coburn CBE, Ulster Carpets Group (NI Business)
  • Liz Cameron OBE, Scottish Chambers of Commerce (Scottish Business)
  • Sean Ramsden, Ramsden International (SMEs)
  • Mike Cherry OBE, Federation of Small Business (SMEs, BRO)
  • Sam Lowe, Centre for European Reform (Think Tanks)
  • Paul Nowak, Trade Union Congress (Trade Unions)
  • Prys Morgan, Kepak Group Limited (Welsh Business)